2 Goals in 30 Seconds

By | October 25, 2010

This is a video of a goalkeeper having his best and worst moments in the space of 30 seconds. It occurred in a match between FC Schalke 04 and Bayer Leverkusen on 17 April 2004. Bayer’s goalkeeper Hans-Jörg Butt (ok, no butt jokes), who’s well-known for taking penalty kicks, scores a penalty at one end, only to find the ball in his net when he returns to his own goal. Butt was basically caught out over-celebrating, but credit has to be given to the goalscorer for his quick thinking.

Still, should the referee let the opposing team kick off before the goalkeeper was back in position? I tried to search for the relevant governing laws of the game but to no avail. The closest thing mentioned on FIFA’s website is that “A goal may be scored directly from the kick-off.”

What are your thoughts regarding this?

Related stuff:
Controversial goal
Oliver Kahn with a twist

Technorati Tags: Schalke 04 Bayer Leverkusen Hans-Jörg Butt goalkeeper penalty kicks FIFA goals

Help spread the word!
error

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of